In need of guidance

Jan 9, 2015 at 5:28 PM
Edited Jan 9, 2015 at 5:28 PM
I am new to Prism for WinRT and have been working through the AdventureWorks sample, but need some further guidance. I have a MediaElement on a page and want to be able to Play, Pause, and Stop the MediaElement from the ViewModel. I have a button and can of course bind to a PlayMedia command on the ViewModel, but once in the ViewModel how to I actually get the MediaElement to Play, Pause, and Stop on the UI?

Thanks,

Rob
Jan 9, 2015 at 7:19 PM
From what I understand this should be able to be accomplished with PubSubEvents, but I cannot seem to figure out how to wire up the View and ViewModel. I assume I need to publish the event in the ViewModel and subscribe to the event in the View.

The sequence as I understand is from the PlayButton in the view, which is bound to the ViewModel command which will then raise the PlayAudioEvent subscribed in to in the View and published in the ViewModel. Is this correct, or is there a better way to do this?
Jan 11, 2015 at 1:56 PM
Hi Rob,
Anytime you find yourself saying "I'm doing MVVM and I need something to be controlled by code in my ViewModel but the only way to get it done is with code in my code behind working directly against the UI element APIs", you have two main paths:
  1. Just write the code you need to write against the control API as code behind and then bridge to your ViewModel for the parts it can control by setting up a communications path from that code behind code to the ViewModel by casting the DataContext of the view to the ViewModel type (or an interface it exposes) and calling methods there or hook up to events raised by your view model.
  2. Use a behavior. Either use one of the built-in behaviors in the Behaviors SDK or write a custom one if the built-in ones are not straightforward to use for this scenario or if you will be implementing the same pattern in multiple views.